Showing posts with label reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label reviews. Show all posts

November 11, 2016

Transformers Combiner Wars Liokaiser Toy Review

The Kind-Of-6 Robot Combiner, In Effect!

The Combiner Wars continue with one last release: the Entertainment Earth exclusive Liokaiser Gift-Set! This marks the first time the famed Japanese G1 gestalt has received any sort of official nod from Hasbro, and they went all-out accordingly. (Well, as all-out as can be given a budgetary constraint or two.) Now, let's dive in to see what the latest Transformers Platinum Edition release has to offer!

Disclaimer - Images below often contain fan configurations arranged to my personal taste. Be cool!

Guyhawk enters the fray!

October 26, 2015

Castle Geek-Skull's Super Important Pumpkin Spice Oreo Review

Time to go all out with some serious health food, kids!

Pumpkin Spice Oreos are here to grace grocery store shelves yet again! I never spotted them during their initial run in the 2014 Halloween season, and I assumed I may have missed out entirely. Not one to let second-chances slip by, I'm pleased to take the plunge and see what these bastards are all about!

August 11, 2015

Transformers Combiner Wars Silverbolt Toy Review

Aerial Robot Individual

It's been over a freakin' year since we were given our first glimpse of the initial Transformers Combiner Wars line-up, and Silverbolt has remained firmly atop my wishlist ever since. Alongside his wave-mate Optimus Prime, the guys at Entertainment Earth have allowed me to finally give the iconic Aerialbot leader a look. Let's do it!

"I don't know what to do with my hands."

August 10, 2015

Transformers Combiner Wars Optimus Prime Toy Review

That's just Prime!

It turns out there are three sure things: death, taxes, and a constant stream of new Optimus Prime toys. One of the latest from Hasbro has the iconic Autobot leader shoehorned into 2015's Combiner Wars assortment. Thanks to the fine folks at Entertainment Earth, I'm pleased to crack one open and see how it stacks up. Cue the pictures!

Why hello there.

February 19, 2015

Number Ones - Ei8ht #1 Review

Ei8ht #1 cover
"One day, he wasn't in his time at all."

Rafael Albuquerque and Mike Johnson's Ei8ht brings us the story of a time travel mission gone wrong. Stranded and disoriented, chrononaut Joshua has found himself in quite a mess. It may seem simple at face value, but it's a strong enough premise to warrant checking out.

February 14, 2015

Harley Quinn Valentine's Day Special #1 Review

Pucker up.

Oh look, it's Valentine's Day. Since I'm going it alone this year, I may as well take the opportunity to indulge in a little "me time." I'll give you a moment to get your mind out of the gutter; I'm saying it's time to read some comics!

I may not be in the hearts n' kisses mood, but what the hell; let's see what Harley Quinn Valentine's Day Special #1 has in store!

February 12, 2015

Number Ones - Star Wars: Darth Vader #1 Review

Darth Vader — the icon of all icons — now has his own Marvel comic book series. The company may as well be printing cash. Despite having several problems with their main Star Wars series, I'm all in.

Star Wars: Darth Vader #1, let's see what you've got!

February 10, 2015

Marvel Star Wars #2 Review

Those crazy Star Wars.

Despite its occasionally clunky dialogue and inconsistent artwork, I felt Star Wars' return to Marvel Comics was a solid effort. At its best, the characters and overall tone were nearly perfect. If that level of quality can be maintained, the series would easily warrant a monthly purchase.

Now that the second issue is out in the wild, we may as well dive in to see how it stacks up. Let's grab a nice cool glass of blue milk and check out Marvel's Star Wars #2!

February 9, 2015

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #2 Review

For the record, she's riding atop Iron Man armor on the full cover. It's awesome.

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1 was one of the first comics I read this year, and I was immediately won over by its upbeat humor and lively visuals. It made far too great an impression to simply stop reading there. The second issue has finally made its way to shelves, and I'm seriously looking forward to whatever it has in store.

Alright, let's do this. Here's a look at Marvel's The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #2!

February 7, 2015

Spawn #250 Comic Book Review

Greg Capullo's Spawn #250 Cover

In my early teen years, Spawn was an absolute "must-buy." The "grimdark" style was initially right up my alley, but it was Greg Capullo's increasingly captivating illustrations that kept me coming back. When he left behind the interior penciling duties after the 100th issue, my interest took a serious nosedive. Hearing of gross developments like the backstory twist in #164 only served to keep me away.

Even so, the book has now reached an admirable landmark with its 250th issue, and Todd McFarlane isn't one to let a milestone slip past without a heavily advertised shake-up or two. With the return of Al Simmons on deck, I figured this would be the perfect time to give the series another shot. Let's push forward and see what Spawn #250 has to offer.

February 6, 2015

Comic Book Michelangelo Toy Review (Ninja Turtles 2012)

Master of Dual-Nunchucks!

If I buy one Ninja Turtle action figure, I pretty much have to grab the remaining three. I'd bet a hefty sum of cash that I'm far from alone. After raving about Playmates' semi-recent Original Comic Book Raphael, the inevitable quest for his brothers began. First up is Michelangelo. Review mode, activate!

February 5, 2015

Number Ones - Cluster #1 Comic Book Review

Life sentence? Fight for your planet instead!

Boom! Studios' Cluster #1 is a new sci-fi action series wherein convicted criminals can serve the M.I.D. (Military Inmate Deployment) in place of a prison sentence. Doing so is no easy way out however. Fifteen years of strict rules, grueling physical training, and perilous war with unforgiving alien races await them.

Now, let's see how the beginning of writer Ed Brisson and illustrator Damian Couceiro's "Dirty Dozen in space" turned out!

January 29, 2015

Number Ones - Uncanny Avengers #1 Review

Say it three times fast: Uncanny Avengers Volume 2 #1 - "Counter-Evolutionary Part 1!"

Uncanny Avengers #1 is the start of a new volume showcasing the Avengers Unity Division in the aftermath of the AXIS storyline. While there are certainly more than enough thrown at us, there's a part of me that will always dig seeing characters come together in high-profile team-ups. Let's dive into the issue and see what's in store!

January 22, 2015

Number Ones - G.I. Joe: Snake Eyes Agent Of Cobra #1 Review

...

While the larger than life Cobra Commander is likely the most well known G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero character, Snake Eyes isn't much further down the list. With nearly 100 different toy releases and a role in every iteration of the franchise, he's always been a central figure of its mythos. He escalated to leading status on "rule of cool" alone. This guy is a completely silent ninja commando with katanas, Uzis, and grenades strapped all over his pitch-black attire, and he just happens to have a pet wolf. Yeah, that sells.

Despite the inherent challenge in revolving traditionally speech bubble-driven stories around a character that never speaks, it only makes sense to capitalize on his popularity by giving him a comic book of his own. The original Marvel run was even retitled G.I. Joe: Starring SNAKE EYES at one point. The five-issue Snake Eyes: Agent of Cobra story isn't the first time IDW Publishing has slapped his name onto one of the titles, either. I imagine copies would sell on marquee value alone, but the added "heel turn" is sure to grab a bit more attention this time around. The question is, how does it hold up as the first of a series?

January 15, 2015

Number Ones - Marvel Star Wars #1 Review

Dang ol' rebel scum.

Disney's big-shot acquisition shenanigans over the last few years have allowed Star Wars to return to the Marvel Comics stable. While the move from Dark Horse was understandably on the controversial side, I feel it's best to give new iterations of beloved franchises a fair chance. That's a big part of what Castle Geek-Skull's Number Ones feature is all about! As such, let's dive in and see what the new Marvel Star Wars #1 has to offer.

January 13, 2015

Transformers Robots in Disguise Strongarm Review (Warrior Class)

The strong face of a strong lady.

The first assortment of toys from the 2015 Transformers: Robots in Disguise series is now in stores, and the allure of new plastic 'Bots and 'Cons has proven inescapable. I've been intrigued by the classic aesthetic of the no-nonsense character Strongarm for several months now. I purchased her Warrior Class (deluxe scale) toy without even the slightest hesitation. Let's see if it can live up to my self-imposed hype!

January 11, 2015

Castle Geek-Skull's French Toast Crunch Review

Bursting with cinnamon and syrup taste.

There was a time in my life where sugary kid's cereal was a fairly regular part of my diet, and I'm a devout follower of the gospel of Cinnamon Toast Crunch. Its tiny little squares make up one of the godliest varieties of tooth-destroying breakfast you'll ever find. You'd think I would've been way down to clown with its spin-off French Toast Crunch, but I managed to miss the boat entirely.

Somehow, I'm not sure I even knew French Toast Crunch existed until it was already off of the shelves. Fortunately, it proved popular enough for General Mills to recently bring it back after an 8 year hiatus. Now, it's time to see what all the fuss is about.

January 8, 2015

Number Ones - The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1 Review

Powers of both squirrel and girl.

With her partially squirrel blood and great disdain for injustice, Squirrel Girl is now set to kick the butts of bad guys everywhere in her own monthly comic. The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1 is a fun look at the titular character's attempt to balance the life of a superhero and fitting in as a regular college student. Author Ryan North sets an upbeat mood right out of the gate with our star bellowing a whimsical theme song as she beats down muggers.

This goes on for two pages. It's possibly the most toe-tapping opening to any Marvel comic ever.

January 6, 2015

Comic Book Raphael Toy Review (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2012)

Lean green fighting machine.

Right at the top of my 14 toy highlights of 2014 was Original Comic Book Raphael from the current Teenange Mutant Ninja Turtles toyline. I hadn't given in to the temptation of sweet plastic crack for some time before stumbling across this guy. I assumed it'd be worth grabbing based on positive experiences with the 2012 series' initial assortment, and the sheer novelty of seeing the original comic series represented on store shelves sealed the deal. Now, let's take a closer look!

November 9, 2014

Interstellar Movie Review (Spoiler Free)

Interstellar's "Endurance" spacecraft.

It's been some time since I've attempted to actually review a movie, but Christopher Nolan's Interstellar is well worth talking about. I've enjoyed his previous output quite a bit, so this latest release finally gave me the impetus to break the streak of having only seen Marvel flicks this year. The plot literally takes you places, from a dusty farm town to the outer reaches of our solar system and beyond. The pace will likely seem too slow for some, but it seems to pick up rather rapidly once the second act comes around. The run time is just shy of 3 hours, and while there were times when I wish it'd been shorter, it had more to do with my surroundings than the film itself. I'll get to that in a bit.